Exciting Farewells and Painful Histories

I dropped my parents off at the airport this morning. They’re headed to Germany. It’s kind of a long story as to why, so here’s me staring on the chronicle of the last three years that have led up to this momentous event.

Pardon the terrible writing. Also, if you could ignore my crazy eyes, that would be great.

Pardon the terrible writing. Also, if you could ignore my crazy eyes, that would be great.

See, my Mom has cancer. I vividly remember when she was first diagnosed in 2013.  There was no preamble of health issues that hinted at deeper troubles. One day everything was right as rain in my family. The next day I was going to a party. My parents wanted me to call once I got there to make sure I had traveled safe. I was thinking I was much too old and independent to do so, and feeling rebellious gave my dad the quickest of calls that probably went something like “Hey I made it safe, obviously, k bye.” And then I hung up. Dad called me back right away.

“What?” Is how I believe I answered the phone.

“Your mom’s in the hospital.” He said.

Dang. They talk about living out movie moments, but they usually mean the picture perfect happy ones, not the rebellious-teen-acts-rebellious-only-to-find-out-bad-news-in-the-middle-of-her-rebellion. Nothing puts a damper on rebellion and puts life in perspective like that.

He proceeded to tell me they didn’t think it was anything serious, just some abnormal stuff that probably didn’t amount to much but she was staying overnight and getting a colonoscopy in the morning to check it out.

I remember the next morning, hugging my family and crying as we got the results. I remember being asked if I was okay and saying no (actually saying no instead of what I usually do and brushing my troubles aside with a “Fine”) and crying more.

Mom was in the hospital for 2 weeks, and it was a tumultuous and emotional and crazy hard time that I wish had never happened. Yet I have some memories from that time that are so special to me. Life is weird that way.

And maybe that’s why, when I dropped off my parents at the airport at 4:30 this morning so that my mom can seek treatment for her now stage 4 cancer in a country that still has options for her to fight this fight, I wasn’t sad or scared. I was actually excited. No matter what results from her 6 week treatment there, the adventures and memories that my parents make in Europe will be so wonderful.

So that’s the inception of the narrative. It’s been a long ride and there are many stories in between. But I’ll get to those later. For now I’m just happy I’ve actually started. The first step’s the hardest right?

So that’s life, and that’s why in a few weeks I’ll be headed off to another country to support my Mom through this. And also why I slept in until literally 12:30 today. But that’s a rather unimportant detail in all this.

Leave a Reply

